Skip to main content


Main Menu Toggle

Medal of Honor Banquet Awards Outstanding Students

The Rock Island-Milan School District hosted it's annual “Medal of Honor” Banquet on Thursday, May 16, at the Holiday Inn in downtown Rock Island.
The purpose of this banquet is to honor outstanding students who have proven themselves to be all around good students, good citizens, and caring individuals who bring with them a positive force that helps to influence the school to be a better place to learn and grow.
Each school in the district asked their faculty to select students based on the following criteria: makes the most of his/her talents; makes others a priority and demonstrates this by helping without being asked; volunteers his/her time, energy and talents to the school; has a consistently positive attitude; exhibits a good sense of humor; respects himself/ herself and others; is honest; demonstrates commitment and responsibility through good work habits, attendance, discipline and on-time behavior; and listens to the needs and concerns of others. 
The following students received awards:
  • Denkmann Elementary: Alaina Bonja, Chase Curry, Zaynah Hassan, Madison Wangler
  • Earl Hanson Elementary: Mu Phlay K’Tooe Soe, Lily Phares, Eh Tahe Ta
  • Eugene Field Elementary: Lukas Heine, Birdie Johnson, Grant Stewart, Ashlyn Sullivan 
  • Frances Willard Elementary: Ciza Beoline, Aunah Jones, Dreshawn Randolph, Ryleigh Terry 
  • Longfellow Liberal Arts: Aaliyah Clark, Yasmin Contreras-Villagomez, Sophia Stout
  • Ridgewood Elementary: LaNina Daugherty, Ki’Leyah Jackson, Tyler Whipple
  • Rock Island Academy: Je’Nez Lewis, Gladys Perez, Angelina Nocentelli, Beline Shukuru
  • Rock Island Center for Math & Science: Max Davis, Trace Downing, Fedora Noya,Juana Perez-Morales, Alissa Quinlan
  • Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Faith Herington, Rowan Perion, Trinity Sepulveda 
  • Edison Junior High School: Chanel Colvin, Keller Mathew, Kaylee Plohr, Tristian Richardson-Cole 
  • Washington Junior High School: Fidelia Awoudi, Kaiya McKinley, Samuel Niyonkuru, Larry Olivier 
  • Rock Island High School: Cylus Crayne, Sha Du Du, Tyana Jackson, Emily Laughlin, Hae Ku Soe, Nathan Steinbeck, Fredy Zetina